Posted by: benphia | October 5, 2008

20 days to Nepal.

 

Mikhail Perfilov

Photograph by: Mikhail Perfilov

Sophia and I will be traveling through many towns along our trek. In fact, this trek is much different than backpacking in the “wilderness” for twenty three days. We will be walking near people living their lives. We will be walking near people who live in this wild and desolate land.

This excites me because I feel extremely close to nature, I feel a part of nature and yet here in Portland I act as though nature is “out there.” Perhaps this trekking experience will shed new, experiential light on how to live, perceiving nature even in cities.

The natural is me and is all around me. People are natural and what we create is also natural. It is wrong for me to make a distinction between “natural” and “unnatural.” All is nature, and all deserves respect.

Leave a Reply

Categories

